Six candidates for position of IMO Secretary-General

By the established deadline of 31 March 2015, the International Maritime Organization (IMO) has received the nominations of six candidates, nominated by their Governments for the position of Secretary-General of IMO. 

The election for the post will be held at the 114th session of the 40-Member strong IMO Council, which meets from 29 June to 3 July 2015.  The decision of the Council will be submitted to the IMO Assembly, which meets for its 29th session from 23 November to 2 December 2015, for its approval.

The nominations received are listed below.  

Mr. Vitaly KlyuevRussian Federation 
Mr. Andreas Chrysostomou Republic of Cyprus 
Mr. Ki-tack Lim  Republic of Korea  
Dr. Maximo Q. Mejia Jr.   
Republic of the Philippines
Mr. Andreas Nordseth Kingdom of Denmark 
Mr. Juvenal Shiundu   Republic of Kenya 

The present incumbent, Mr. Koji Sekimizu, ends his four-year term as Secretary-General on 31 December 2015.